Merkmal:

WSP: Hohe Leistung, kohlenstoffarm

Sponsoren-Spotlight

von Teresa Vangeli und Sarah Buffaloe

Verwendung von Lebenszyklusanalysen zur Erweiterung von verkörperten CO2-Reduktionspraktiken für Gebäude und Infrastruktur

Als Mitarbeiter von WSP USA — eines der weltweit führenden Beratungsunternehmen für Ingenieurwesen und professionelle Dienstleistungen — und Unterstützer der Carbon Leadership Forum (CLF) freuen wir uns über das wachsende Interesse, das wir in unserem Unternehmen und in unserem Berufsstand feststellen, um den in Gebäuden und Infrastruktur enthaltenen Kohlenstoff zu reduzieren und zu eliminieren.

Natürlich haben wir noch einen langen Weg vor uns, um die Reduzierung von Kohlenstoff zu einer Priorität zu machen, die neben Sicherheit, Funktion, Belastbarkeit, Ästhetik und anderen Kernprinzipien von Design und Technik steht. Und wir müssen noch weiter gehen, um die Vision zu verwirklichen, die Verwendung von Massivholz, pflanzlichen Materialien, Lehmplatten und anderen innovativen Strategien zu erweitern, um das Klimaprofil von Gebäuden umzukehren und sie CO2-positiv zu machen.

Das neue Terminal B-Projekt mit HOK war eine 1,3 Millionen Quadratfuß große Flughafenerweiterung zum bestehenden Flughafen. Das Projekt bestand aus einer zentralen Halle, einem Headhouse, Fußgängerbrücken und Verbindungen zur Garage.

Laguardia-Terminal B

Das neue Terminal B-Projekt mit HOK war eine 1,3 Millionen Quadratfuß große Flughafenerweiterung zum bestehenden Flughafen. Das Projekt bestand aus einer zentralen Halle, einem Headhouse, Fußgängerbrücken und Verbindungen zur Garage

Wir fühlen uns geehrt, Teil der zu sein CLF-Community wo wir uns mit anderen verkörperten Kohlenstoffexperten und führenden Praktikern unserer Branche austauschen können. Es wird eine beträchtliche Zusammenarbeit zwischen Sektoren und Disziplinen erfordern, um den verkörperten Kohlenstoff in der gebauten Umwelt erheblich zu reduzieren. Wir finden viele Gründe für Optimismus bei WSP. Während wir uns mit unseren Kollegen auf der ganzen Welt austauschen – die mittlerweile mehr als 60.000 sind – sehen wir ein zunehmendes Verständnis und Engagement für die Reduzierung von Kohlenstoff.

Im Jahr 2021 hat WSP USA als Unterzeichner des SE 2050-Verpflichtungsprogramms des Structural Engineering Institute (SEI) sein Engagement für die Reduzierung und letztendliche Eliminierung von verkörpertem Kohlenstoff in seinen Struktursystemprojekten bis 2050 weiter ausgebaut. Das Ziel des SEI-Programms ist es, die Unterstützung der kollektiven Bautechnikindustrie zu bündeln, um eine signifikante Reduzierung des verkörperten Kohlenstoffs bei der Konstruktion und Konstruktion von Tragwerkssystemen voranzutreiben.

Es beginnt mit Ökobilanzen

Die Spezialteams von WSP, die sich auf Klima, Resilienz und Nachhaltigkeit konzentrieren, unterstützen Kunden seit mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten bei der Messung und Reduzierung der CO2-Emissionen im Lebenszyklus. Wir führen strenge Analysen für Kunden durch, um den verkörperten Kohlenstoff und andere Umweltauswirkungen ihrer Projekte und Gebäude zu quantifizieren – von Rechenzentren und Geschäftsgebäuden bis hin zu Verkehrsinfrastruktur und Mehrfamilienhäusern.

Wir sehen jetzt Wissen und Fachwissen über effektive und bewährte Techniken zur Reduzierung des verkörperten Kohlenstoffanbaus bei WSP. Zum Beispiel hören wir im kritischen Bereich der Spezifizierung von kohlenstoffärmerem Beton Warnungen von unseren Ingenieurkollegen über die Einschränkungen zukünftiger Lieferungen von Flugasche – ein übliches ergänzendes zementartiges Material (SCM) mit einem günstigen Kohlenstoffprofil im Vergleich zu Portlandzement — aufgrund der rückläufigen Entwicklung von Kohlekraftwerken (Quellen für die Asche) in vielen Regionen.

Vorläufige Ergebnisse, die die Aufschlüsselung zeigen, welche Baustoffkategorie zu jeder verkörperten Wirkungskategorie beiträgt. Da es sich um ein Gebäude aus Stahl und Beton handelt, zeigen die Ergebnisse, dass die meisten Stöße von „Metallen“ ausgehen, zu denen Stahlkonstruktionen, geformte Metallplatten, Lamellen und Bewehrungsstäbe gehören.

Während wir also die Dekarbonisierung im Stromsektor feiern, werden wir an die Notwendigkeit erinnert, andere neue und aufkommende SCMs wie Kalkstein, Puzzolane und Silikastaub zu erforschen und zu entwickeln.

Das Engagement von WSP zur Reduzierung von verkörpertem Kohlenstoff in der gebauten Umwelt bedeutet, die Anfragen unserer Kunden nach Hochleistungsprojekten zu unterstützen. Das kürzlich fertiggestellte neue Terminal B am Flughafen La Guardia in New York erhielt die LEED v4 Gold-Zertifizierung, einschließlich einer 16-prozentigen Reduzierung des verkörperten Kohlenstoffs durch eine erneute Überprüfung des strukturellen Entwurfs in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Designteam.

Durch unsere Beteiligung an CLF und dem SE 2050 Commitment arbeiten wir an einem Embodied Carbon Action Plan (ECAP), um bei allen WSP-Statikern Kapazitäten für die Messung und Reduzierung von Embodied Carbon bei Bau- und Infrastrukturprojekten aufzubauen. Wir stellen fest, dass im Vergleich zu Gebäuden weniger Tools und Anleitungen zur Verfügung stehen, um die Messung und Reduzierung von CO2 in Infrastrukturprojekten zu unterstützen.

Von unseren Kollegen lernen

Als globales Unternehmen können wir von unseren WSP-Kollegen auf der ganzen Welt lernen. Letztes Jahr hat sich WSP UK entschlossen verpflichtet, die CO2-Emissionen aus ihren Entwürfen und Beratungen bis 2030 zu halbieren (zu ihnen gesellen sich jetzt WSP Schweden, WSP Dänemark und WSP Neuseeland). Um dieses Engagement zu unterstützen, haben unsere britischen Kollegen Methoden und Werkzeuge entwickelt, um die CO2-Emissionen aus den vielen Arten von Projekten, die wir unterstützen, abzuschätzen. Bei der Entwicklung unseres ECAP für WSP USA können wir die großartige Arbeit nutzen, die auf der anderen Seite des großen Teichs geleistet wird.

Wir sehen auch einen signifikanten Generationswechsel. Ingenieure, die gerade ihren Abschluss gemacht haben, bringen ein höheres Bewusstsein dafür mit, was für Nachhaltigkeit und Widerstandsfähigkeit in der gebauten Umwelt getan werden muss. Nachhaltigkeit ist jetzt in den Standardlehrplan für Ingenieure integriert. Da ihr Idealismus auf die Erfahrung von leitenden Ingenieuren trifft und verkörperter Kohlenstoff zu einem größeren Anliegen öffentlicher und privater Projektsponsoren wird, glauben wir, dass wir eine Blüte neuer Ideen und Lösungen und eine weitere Reifung der von CLF verfochtenen verkörperten Kohlenstoffbilanzierungsmethoden sehen werden .

Autor Bios

Sarah Büffel ist Associate für Built Ecology bei WSP USA. Sie trat der Firma im November 2014 bei und lebt in Washington, DC. Sie wendet ganzheitliches Denken und quantifizierte Metriken an, um Lösungen zu implementieren, die das breite Spektrum an Leistungszielen ansprechen, mit denen jedes Projekt konfrontiert ist. Ihre fünfjährige Spezialisierung auf nachhaltige Materialien beim US Green Building Council, kombiniert mit ihrer dreijährigen Erfahrung im Architekturdesign und ihren akademischen Aktivitäten in Materialforschung und LCA, geben ihr eine einzigartige Perspektive auf Baumaterialien und ihren Lebenszyklus und ihre Haltbarkeit.

Teresa Vangeli ist Direktor für Strukturen und Nachhaltigkeit bei WSP USA. Sie wohnt in der Gegend von Boston. Vangeli engagiert sich leidenschaftlich dafür, nachhaltiges Design in die Gebäude- und Infrastrukturplanung zu integrieren. Als lizenzierte Fachingenieurin, Baufachkraft, Projektmanagerin, Envision-Verifiziererin und LEED AP ermutigt sie alle Ingenieure, sich für Nachhaltigkeit zu engagieren. Sie hat an allen Arten von Projekten gearbeitet, von Flughafenanlagen über Tunnel bis hin zu Entwicklungs-Masterplänen in den Vereinigten Staaten. Vangeli ist der Meinung, dass jedes Projekt nachhaltiger sein kann.

 

Autoren

Sarah Büffel

Sarah Büffel

Teresa Vangeli

Teresa Vangeli

SOM: Gebäude können Lösungen sein
SOM: Gebäude können Lösungen sein

von Kent Jackson und Chris Cooper Urban Sequoia: Ein Konzept für Gebäude und ihren urbanen Kontext, um Kohlenstoff mit einer beispiellosen Rate zu absorbieren Auf der COP26, der 2021...

Nadelholzbrett
Nadelholzbrett

von Kabira Ferrell, Vizepräsidentin für Kommunikation beim Softwood Lumber Board Unterstützung der Entwicklung von Tools, Transparenz und Daten zur Unterstützung der...

Mithun: Veränderung verkörpern
Mithun: Veränderung verkörpern

von Claire McConnell und Sean Cryan Verknüpfung von Forschung, Entwicklung und Projekten Mithuns Engagement für die Reduzierung der CO2-Emissionen in der bebauten Umwelt ist ein...

Schnittstelle: „Klimarücknahme“
Schnittstelle: „Klimarücknahme“

Eine Mission, ein lebenswertes Klima zu schaffen und die globale Erwärmung umzukehren von Lisa Conway, Vizepräsidentin für Nachhaltigkeit, Interface Americas Im Jahr 1994...

Walter P. Moore: Ein kooperativer Ansatz
Walter P. Moore: Ein kooperativer Ansatz

von Dirk KestnerPrincipal - Director of Sustainable Design bei Walter P Moore Als ich vor 20 Jahren meine Karriere als Diplom-Ingenieur bei Walter P Moore begann...

MKA: Entwicklung einer Umweltlösung
MKA: Entwicklung einer Umweltlösung

Magnusson Klemencic Associates (MKA): Ein Fokus auf den Klimaschutz Das Finden kreativer und innovativer bautechnischer Lösungen hat sich als...

Thornton Tomasettis lange Carbon-Erfahrung
Thornton Tomasettis lange Carbon-Erfahrung

Ein unternehmensweites Ziel, die Branche bei der Reduzierung von Embodied Carbon in Strukturen von Amy HattanVice President for Corporate Responsibility, Thornton...

de_DEGerman

Dec 30, 2021

WSP: High Performance, Low Carbon

Sponsor Spotlight

by Teresa Vangeli and Sarah Buffaloe

Using Life Cycle Assessments to Expand Embodied Carbon Reduction Practices for Buildings and Infrastructure

As employees of WSP USA — one of the world’s leading engineering and professional services consultancies — and supporters of the Carbon Leadership Forum (CLF), we are excited about the growing interest we’re seeing across our company and our profession to reduce and eliminate the carbon embodied in buildings and infrastructure.

Of course, we have a long way to go to make reducing embodied carbon a priority that ranks along with safety, function, resilience, aesthetics and other core principles of design and engineering. And we have even further to go to realize the vision of expanding the use of mass timber, plant-based materials, earthen slabs and other innovative strategies to reverse the climate profile of buildings and make them carbon positive.

The new Terminal B project with HOK was a 1.3-million square foot airport addition to the existing airport. The project consisted of a central hall, headhouse, pedestrian bridges, and connections to the garage.

Laguardia Terminal B

The new Terminal B project with HOK was a 1.3-million square foot airport addition to the existing airport. The project consisted of a central hall, headhouse, pedestrian bridges, and connections to the garage

We are honored to be part of the CLF community where we can connect with other embodied carbon experts and leading practitioners in our industry. It will take considerable collaboration across sectors and disciplines to significantly reduce embodied carbon within the built environment. We find many reasons for optimism within WSP. As we engage with our colleagues around the globe — who now number more than 60,000 — we see increasing understanding of, and commitment to, reducing embodied carbon.

In 2021, WSP USA furthered its commitment to reduce, and ultimately eliminate, embodied carbon in its structural system projects by 2050 as a signatory to the Structural Engineering Institute’s (SEI) SE 2050 Commitment Program. The goal of the SEI program is to coalesce the support of the collective structural engineering industry to drive significant reductions of embodied carbon in the design and construction of structural systems.

It starts with life cycle assessments

WSP’s specialty teams focused on climate, resilience and sustainability have been helping clients measure and reduce life cycle carbon emissions for more than two decades. We conduct rigorous analyses for clients to quantify the embodied carbon and other environmental impacts of their projects and buildings— from data centers and commercial buildings, to transportation infrastructure and multi-family housing.

We are now seeing knowledge and expertise about effective and proven techniques to reduce embodied carbon growing at WSP. For instance, in the critical area of specifying lower-carbon concrete, we’re hearing warnings from our engineering colleagues about the limitations on future supplies of fly ash — a common supplementary cementitious material (SCM) with a favorable carbon profile compared to Portland cement — due to the declining trajectory of coal power plants (sources for the ash) in many regions.

Preliminary results showing the breakdown of which building material category contributes to each embodied impact category. As a steel and concrete building the results show that the majority of impacts come from “metals” which includes structural steel framing, formed metal panels, louvers and rebar.

So, while we celebrate decarbonization in the electric power sector, we’re reminded of the need to explore and develop other new and emerging SCMs, such as limestone, pozzolans and silica fume.

WSP’s commitment to reducing embodied carbon in the built environment means supporting our client’s requests for high-performance projects. The recently completed new Terminal B at La Guardia Airport in New York achieved LEED v4 Gold certification, including a 16 percent reduction in embodied carbon by revisiting the structural design closely with the design team.

Through our involvement in CLF and the SE 2050 Commitment, we are working on an embodied carbon action plan (ECAP) to build capacity among all WSP structural engineers about how to measure and reduce embodied carbon on building and infrastructure projects. We are finding there are fewer tools and guidance available to support measuring and reducing carbon in infrastructure projects compared to buildings.

Learning from our colleagues

As a global company, we are able to learn from our WSP colleagues around the world. Last year WSP UK made a bold commitment to halve the carbon emissions from their designs and advice by 2030 (they’ve now been joined by WSP Sweden, WSP Denmark and WSP New Zealand). To support this commitment, our UK colleagues have been developing methodologies and tools to estimate carbon emissions from the many types of projects that we support. As we develop our ECAP for WSP USA, we can leverage the great work being done across the pond.

We’re also seeing significant generational change. Engineers who are recent graduates are bringing with them a higher level of awareness about what needs to be done for sustainability and resilience in the built environment. Sustainability is now integrated into the standard engineering curriculum. As their idealism meets the experience of senior engineers, and as embodied carbon becomes a greater concern for public and private project sponsors, we think we’ll see a flowering of new ideas and solutions and continued maturing of the embodied carbon accounting methods championed by CLF.

Author Bios

Sarah Buffaloe is an associate for Built Ecology at WSP USA. She joined the firm in November 2014 and resides in Washington, D.C. She applies holistic thinking and quantified metrics to implement solutions that address the wide range of performance goals every project faces. Her five years specializing in sustainable materials at the U.S. Green Building Council, combined with her three years of architectural design experience and academic pursuits in material research and LCA, give her a unique perspective on building materials and their life cycle and durability.

Teresa Vangeli is a director of structures and sustainability at WSP USA. She resides in the Boston area. Vangeli is passionate about bringing sustainable design integration into building and infrastructure design. As a licensed professional engineer, structural discipline, project manager, Envision verifier and LEED AP, she encourages all engineers to get involved in sustainability. She has worked on all types of projects from airport facilities to tunnels to development masterplans across the United States. Vangeli feels that every project can be more sustainable.

 

Authors

Sarah Buffaloe

Sarah Buffaloe

Teresa Vangeli

Teresa Vangeli

Latest Features

Introducing Brad Benke

Researcher, Carbon Leadership Forum, University of Washington Brad Benke, AIA, is a Research Scientist at the Carbon Leadership Forum focused on...

The Embodied Carbon Challenge for India

Kickoff for CLF Bengaluru Outlines Opportunities for Collaboration and Actionby Abhinav Sujit Project director and architect for klimArt Pvt Ltd,...

Changing the World One City at a Time

CLF Regional Hubs Flourish in Philly, Phoenix, Minnesota, Seattle, Boston, Austin, Atlanta, Ottawa, Chicago, Los Angeles, Portland, San Francisco,...

Introducing Meghan Lewis

Senior Researcher, Carbon Leadership Forum, University of Washington Meghan Lewis is a Senior Researcher at the Carbon Leadership Forum, where she...

Introducing Stephanie Carlisle

Senior Researcher, Carbon Leadership Forum, University of Washington Stephanie Carlisle is an architect and environmental researcher whose work...

Introducing Monica Huang

Research Engineer, Carbon Leadership Forum, University of Washington Monica Huang is a research engineer with experience in environmental life cycle...

Introducing Andrew Himes

Director of Collective Impact, Carbon Leadership Forum, University of Washington Andrew Himes is director of collective impact initiatives to reduce...

Learning About Forests, Carbon, and Wood

Wood Carbon Seminars: A CLF Learning Series by Monica Huang Research Engineer, Carbon Leadership Forum In April 2020 we launched the Wood Carbon...

Renee Cheng: Change Agency, Value Change

Amid the pandemic, economic crash, and social justice outcries awaits a collision that will reveal new questions for the design profession, writes...

Origins: Embodied Carbon Benchmark Study

"We sought to develop a database of existing building embodied carbon studies  to discover trends and establish better ways to reduce uncertainties...

Decarbonization and Social Equity

Environmental Stewardship and Social Responsibility: We Can Do It All By Donald I. King FAIA Eco-consciousness and the selling of green design For...

Introducing Anthony Hickling

Managing Director, Carbon Leadership Forum, University of Washington Anthony Hickling has experience in environmental and social sustainability as...

Our Mission is Transformation

by Kate Simonen Founding Director of the Carbon Leadership Forum We’re living through an extraordinary moment in human history, as though the 1918...

The Nehemiah Initiative

Building Beloved Community While Working to Decarbonize Buildings by Mark Jones with Andrew Himes The Central District is an historically Black...

The Delacorte Review: The Baller

Can attitude help save the planet? A frightened climate reporter meets an ex-basketball player with a serious game plan. By Audrey Gray Teammates...

en_USEnglish